By You I Mean Me (And Maybe You)

Hello long lost readership.  How are you?  Yeah?  That sounds nice.  Not really.  Oh yes, I heard about that.  Did it all work out?  Oh, great! Mazel tov!

Okay, glad we have that out of the way.  Let’s move on, yes?

Yes.  Good.

So, let’s have a chat.  What is wrong with you?

By you I mean me (and maybe you).

Life got all complicated and not funny.  Er, well, way less funny.

Or did I just get way more serious?  Or “educated”?  Or “enlightened”?

When did cynicism win the day?  

When did you get to be sooo jaded? (If your brown furrowed, you snorted, dropped a pff or psh, odds are I’m talking to you…)

By you I mean me (and maybe you).

(Disclaimer:  I don’t proof read.  I’m just sayin’…)

Life can suck.  A lot.  Life seems to get pleasure in kicking you in the no no spot, take your wallet when you’re down, make out with and subsequently run off with your girlfriend and then sign you up for every 80’s b-list and under celebrity fan club, using your email address and home address written on your business card that was in the wallet life took off of you after kicking you in the no no spot…

But I digress.

The point is, yes, life seems to, at this point, want to veer towards the “holy crap that did not just happen what the (obscenity) am I going to do now why why why why why why I hate everything” variety of events…

Double digress.

Listen, I feel your pain.  I do.  I’m there with you, because remember…

By you I mean me (and maybe you).

Through everything, please, don’t stay down.  Don’t let it keep you down there.  Because it will fester.  It will grow.  It.  Will.  Take.  O.  Ver.

Remember when you were a kid and everything was more or less fantastic(especially roller coasters.. my gosh were roller coasters fantastic… I had incredible g-force stamina… I swear I should have been an astronaut)?

Joy can be found in the pain.  It can be found when life is ready to beat your head in.  It can, I promise.  You’re just not looking.  You don’t want to look.  You’d rather sulk in the misery.  And blame.  And wallow.  

By you I mean me (and maybe you).

And you know what… it does you no good.  I makes you a miserable cuss.  You begin to internalize, to judge, to jade.

And I get it.  I do.  But its not okay.  Really.  Life is too short and being the above fractured sentences do you no good.  

By you I mean me (and maybe you).

So what do we do?  

I don’t really know, to be honest.  But I’m trying.  

But look, blaming, wallowing. finger pointing.  No good.  Accomplishes NOTHING.  

Find the humor and joy in life again.  Its hidden in the cracks and crevices of pain.  

Its buried deep in grief.  

Its there.  Hoping that you dig it up and expose it.  That you show it off.  That you pass it around and share it.

Because people are hurting.  I am hurting.  You are hurting.  

You can continue to hurt.  You can continue to grieve and to become angry and cynical and jaded and forget what life was or could be.

There’s a lot of it going around.  Its in.  Its stylish.  Its hip.

Its cliche.  

There, I said it.

We’ve come to default to the above.  We live there.  We kick up our feet there.

I would challenge you to take a deep breath, step back, look at your life.  Is there joy, is there laughter?  Do you love life?  Living?  Do you love?

By you I mean me (and maybe you).

~ by Jeremy Stanley on December 13, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
